Our cleaning team members – meet Celia and Milayda

Es hora de que les presentemos a nuestras hermanas favoritas en el equipo: Celia y Milayda, que han estado con x-runner casi desde el principio. Son queridas y apreciadas por su buen trabajo, su sentido de humor y la buena comida que traen a todos las fiestas del equipo 🙂 Lean más sobre ellas en esta breve entrevista!

It is time for us to introduce you to our favorite sisters in the team: Celia and Milayda, who have been with x-runner almost from the very beginning. They are loved and appreciated for their great work, their sense of humor and the good food they bring to every x-runner party 🙂 Read more about them in their short interview!

by Sophie Medem

INTERVIEW WITH CELIA

CELIA21. Cómo reaccionan tus amigos cuando se enteran donde trabajas?

Lo primero que dicen es “aaaaaj”! Pero de ahí les explico la finalidad de todo, que se saca provecho a las heces, y que el baño seco es bueno para el medio ambiente. Y les parece algo bueno y novedoso.

 1. How do your friends react when they find out where you work? 

Their first reaction is always “eeeew”! But then I explain them the whole concept, that the feces are turned into compost and that the dry toilet is good for the environment. And then they like it and find it new and original.

2. Cómo llegaste a x-runner?

Yo tenía mi terreno al costado donde vendía plantas ornamentales. Cuando empecé en x-runner vendí mi terreno… las plantas no son mi fuerte.

2. How did you arrive at x -runner ? 

I had a piece of land next to x-runner where I sold ornamental plants. When I started at x-runner I sold the land… I don’t really have green fingers anyways.

3. Nombra tres cosas que llevarías a una isla desértica y explica porqué.

  1. Te diría mis hijos pero como la isla es desértica mejor no, pobrecitos jajaja
  2. El libro “Yo amo a mi mama” de Jaime Bayly. Me gustaría saber de qué se trata porque el ha sido muy polémico. Me interesaría saber cómo era de niño, o como era con su mamá.
  3. Agua para no morir de sed.

3. Name three things you would take to a desert island and explains why. 

  1. I’d say my kids, but since it’s a deserted island better not, poor them (hahaha)
  2. I would take the book “I love my mother” by Jaime Bayly with me. I’m curious to know what it is about because he is a very polemic person. I’m interested to know what he was like as a child, or what he was like with his mother.
  3. And I would take water to not die of thirst.

4. Qué significa EQUIPO para ti?

Trabajar en conjunto con varias personas.

4. What does TEAM mean to you?

Working together with various people.

5. Qué significa FAMILIA para ti?

Unión, hijos, compartir, dar, amarnos, esposo

5. What does FAMILY mean to you?

Union, children, sharing, giving, loving, husband

6. Si te regalarían un pasaje a cualquier lugar en el mundo… dónde te irías y porqué? Quién llevarías contigo?

Ahí si tendría que llevar mis hijos (risa). Me gustaría conocer Palestina y Jerusalén para conocer el lugar donde vivió Jesús. Siempre me ha dado curiosidad.

6. If you could travel to any place in the world … where would you go and why? Who you take with you? 

Here I would take my children (laughs). I would like to go to Palestina and Jerusalem to know the place where Jesus lived. I’ve always been curious about those places.

7. Si podrías escoger a un personaje, vivo o muerto, real o ficción, con el que te gustaría compartir unas copas de vino y conversar, quién sería y porqué?

Escogería a mi papá, para decirle lo que no pude, para contarle de mis hijos y hablarle de tantas otras cosas que no pude, y contarle que estoy bien, gracias a Dios.

7. If you could choose a character, living or dead, real or fictional, with whom you could share a glass of wine and have a conversation, who would it be and why?

I’d chose my dad, because I would like to tell him what I never could, about my children and many other things. I’d like to tell him that I am doing good, thank God.

8. Qué te gusta del trabajo en x-runner?

Me gustan las reuniones, son bien amenas! Todo tiene su chispa aca!

8. What do you like about working with x -runner? 

I especially enjoy the group meetings. And everything has a special spark!

 9. Y la última…. PPHH: Bolita o doblado?

(risa) Doblado!! Qué loco que haya gente que no doble, como lo usarán…

9. And the final question…. Toilet Paper: fold it or crunch it?

(laughs) fold it!! How crazy that there are people who don’t fold, how would that work…

 

INTERVIEW WITH MILAYDA

MILAYDA1. Cómo reaccionan tus amigos cuando se enteran donde trabajas?

Lo primero que dicen es “ay que asco” (risa). Luego me preguntan qué hago, cómo es, y les explico como se recogen las heces, que el sistema funciona con aserrín, y me dicen “qué interesante, nunca me imaginé que se podía hacer”. Y luego me dicen “yo también quiero trabajar ahí!” (risa).

1. How do your friends react when they find out where you work? 

The first thing they say is “oh, gross…” (laughs). But then they are curious and ask me more about what it is I do, and I explain the whole concept to them and that the toilet Works with sawdust, and they say “how interesting, I never imagined that this was posible!”. And then they say “help me get a job there too!” (laugs).

2. Cómo llegaste a x-runner?

Por mi hermana, me dijo que estaban buscando a alguien y que la acompañe. Le dije “bacán, vamos!”, pero por volada no presté atención cuando me dijo de qué trataba el trabajo. Por eso cuando vi todo por primera vez me impresionó al comienzo, pero me gustó el trabajo y hasta ahora no he faltado ni un jueves.

2. How did you arrive at x -runner?

Through my sister. She told me that at her job they were looking for someone else and that I should accompany her one day. I told her “great, let’s go!”, but I didn’t really pay attention when she told me what the job was about, so when I arrived I was pretty impressed in the beginning. But I liked working there from the beginning, and I haven’t missed a day at work ever since.

3. Nombra tres cosas que llevarías a una isla desértica y explica porqué.

  1. A una amiga o a mi hermana
  2. Algo para comer: un ceviche o un pollo a la brasa
  3. Mi celular obvio, para sacar pica y decirle a todos mis amigos “NO SABES DONDE ESTOOOY!”

3. Name three things you would take to a desert island and explains why. 

  1. A friend or my sister
  2. Something to eat: a ceviche or grilled chicken
  3. My phone obviously, to call everyone and make them jealous and say “YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHERE I AM!”

4. Qué significa EQUIPO para ti?

Unión, compartir, comunicación

4. What does TEAM mean to you?

Union, sharing, communication

5. Qué significa FAMILIA para ti?

Es lo mejor que cada persona tiene, eso. Y es unión. Lo es todo.

5. What does FAMILY mean to you?

It’s the best anyone can have, that’s what it is. And unión. It’s everything.

6. Si te regalarían un pasaje a cualquier lugar en el mundo… dónde te irías y porqué? Quién llevarías contigo?

Me iría a Italia porque siempre me han hablado bien de allá. Dicen que es bien bonito y que se come rico, y que hay oportunidades para salir adelante. Obviamente me iría con mi hija.

6. If you could travel to any place in the world … where would you go and why? Who you take with you? 

I’d go to Italy beacuse I’ve heard so many good things about that country. They say it’s beautiful and that the food is great, and that there are good job opportunities too. Obviously I’d take my daughter with me.

 7. Si podrías escoger a un personaje, vivo o muerto, real o ficción, con el que te gustaría compartir unas copas de vino y conversar, quién sería y porqué?

Escogería a mi papá. Tengo tantas cosas que me gustaría preguntarle y contarle. Tengo ganas de saber como fue.

7. If you could choose a character, living or dead, real or fictional, with whom you could share a glass of wine and have a conversation, who would it be and why?

I’d chose to talk to my dad. I have so many things I’d like to ask him and talk to him about. I’m curious to know what he was like.

8. Qué te gusta del trabajo en x-runner?

Me gusta la compañía, y lo que hago también me gusta. Todo en general, es divertido!

8. What do you like about working with x -runner? 

I like the company, and what I do. In general I like everything about it, it’s fun!

9. Y la última…. PPHH: Bolita o doblado?

(risa) Qué gracioso! Doblado!! No me imagino hacerlo bolita…

 9. And the final question…. Toilet Paper: fold it or crunch it?

(laughs) How funny! Fold it!! I can’t imagine crunching it…

Leave a Reply

